Herzlich Willkommen

Willkommen!  I’m in Germany right now, so I thought it would be fitting to start with a warm hello in German.  No better time to start a blog then when you are alone in a foreign city for a month trying to learn the language.  I promise I’m practicing my German all the time, but I’m not quite ready to blog in it.

I’ve been thinking about writing a blog for a while now.  “Why?” you ask.  Like so many, after a long and mysterious “year of sick”, in August of 2008 I was finally diagnosed with Celiac disease.  Ever since, I have been on a mission of “food for me”.  To add to all the fun, I’m also in love with a boy and his peanut allergy.  Arg!  I love peanut butter, but I love my boyfriend, so I will have my peanut butter affair when we are apart.

Back to the “why”: I am attempting to be an opera singer and I travel quite often hoping someone will hear me and hire me.  Every time I leave home, I get online and search for food that is safe.  Often I find a fellow celiac who has posted some information about their hometown restaurants or travel discoveries.  I want to join that helpful club!  I also happen to love food and I want to talk about it all the time (if I’m not shoving it in my mouth).

I also like to keep in touch.  So many of my friends have started writing blogs to keep their world of friends and family updated.  I love reading about their adventures and looking through all the pictures of their beautiful babies.  I miss them all and together is always better, but this format gives you a sense of being involved, however far away.

I hope you enjoy!
devon

Leave a Reply

