New York, ah.

This trip was for a singing competition.  I stayed in the Sheraton NY Hotel & Towers for 3 days.  I didn’t bring much food with me because of my proximity to Whole Foods and my plan to purchase a couple boxes of KIND bars while I was in town.  Should we talk about my love of Whole Foods?  I’ll save that for it’s own post.  The singing competition was good, I didn’t advance as far as I would have liked, but I heard some of the sopranos and the level was high.  After the second round you had to wait for an evening phone call to see if you made it to the next day of competition.  Alas, my call never came, so I ate.

Hears a taste:

Nizza.

How did I find this wonderful place? GF in the city.  Thank you, thank you, thank you. Yum. Right off the bat, this place has a gluten free menu.  Great!  I was flying solo, so I was seated at the bar.  I order myself a drink, then I start to peruse the menu.  This is a process I take full advantage of when I have the chance; since being diagnosed, this little step of ‘eating out’ is something I didn’t know I would miss.  Looking over the menu and getting to pick whatever I want, no questions for the waiter, no backup order, no salad (the last resort)!  A gf menu means: “we want you here, we know we can cook for you”.  The bartender was very attentive and suggested the most amazing finale to my superb dinning experience.  I also ran home to look up “Socca”, I can not wait to try and make this!

What I ate:
Breadsticks with olive oil and ricotta (picture)
Eggplant Involtini (picture)
Classic Socca
And the most amazing dessert that I don’t know the name of, but I will!  I must…TORTONI, it was on the receipt.  This is a frozen custard with a strawberry compote.  So good.  I loved that bartender.

Website:
click me!

Lili’s 57.

How could I have neglected to write about this place?  I found it while I was in NY in November.  It fed me Chinese, which I have longed for since I became gluten free.  I am capable of making Chinese food for myself with the fantastic variety of gf soya sauce and hoisin, but the whole fun of it is eating a variety of dishes (that someone else has made for you) with a big group of people.  I miss my family style dinning.  In November, I ordered 3 dishes and rice because I had room in my tiny little fridge for leftovers.  This trip I had a hotel fridge (ice in the sink), so I had to go there twice to get my fix.  The restaurant deals in all types of Asian cuisine, the food is fast and fulfilling.  I’ve been there 4 times (take out once in November), I like this place.

What I ate:
Trip 1 – Dumplings (picture) and rice
Trip 2 – Rock Shrimp Tempura with spicy citrus mayonnaise
Tuna lover sushi roll and a few pieces of nigiri (hamachi, magura, sake), of course they have gf soya sauce

Website:
click me!
They have a great gluten free menu and gluten free soy!

Leave a Reply

