München Teil Eins

Day 1
My fabulous friend Sarah (we met in high school) has been living in London for the past two years, but hadn’t made her way to Germany yet, so we decided to fix that.  After very little himming and haughing we picked Munich, known to the Deutsch as München, as our Easter destination.

What do you do when you’re in Germany?  Eat Italian and Mexican?  Sure, why not?  A few websites mentioned the first restaurant, so Sarah and I decided to try it out.  Their website also boasted a gf tiramisu.  Sounds promising to me!

Hears a taste:

Ristorante il Salento.

Il Salento is a cozy corner restaurant in the heart of Munich.  We walked into this mysterious Italian restaurant in the south of Germany and found about 10 tables, three of which were filled with a variety of local clientele; one family of three, a couple and 3 men with full steins of beer in front of them.  I was looking for some comfort food after 3 weeks of meat, cheese and salad.  Our waiter did not speak English, but after a little confusion and help from another table, Sarah and I were on our way to ordering our dinner.  Dinner was satisfying and hit the comfort food spot right on the money.

What we ate:
Tomatoes with fresh buffalo mozzarella

What I ate:
4 cheese gf pasta

What Sarah ate:
4 Seasons Pizza (not gf, but gf crust is available)

Website:
click me! (only auf Deutsch)

You may have noticed I did not try the gf tiramisu, but the four cheese pasta was so rich!  There was just no room left in my belly.  I’m sorry, that was a fail on my part.  Next time I’m in Munich…

Day 2
Sarah desperately wanted to go to a Beer garden and because we were in Germany, I couldn’t say no.  Our first find was built for tourism: the “Hofbräuhaus”– this Beer Palace has to fit at least 600 people.  After a short hunt for seats outside, Sarah ordered her first Litre of beer and I ordered my Weißweinschorle (white wine with mineral water), Sarah also got her hot little hands on a giant, fresh pretzel.  I’m not going to lie, it was hard to watch her eat this.  Bread has been jeering me the whole time I’ve been in Germany and watching Sarah eat this pretzel was the worst.  Sarah apologized the whole time she was eating it and I would never deny my friend her part of the German experience, but I was so envious.  Because of the size of this place, I thought it was safer not to eat.  Big kitchens make me nervous, your food passes through so many people and stations, chance of contamination is way too high.  (After seeing the barmaids and men walk around with steins of beer overflowing and spilling all over the place, I should have reconsidered even ordering a drink, luckily my Schorle was fine.)  Okay, enough about my missing gluten…Shortly after our Biergarten experience we went on the hunt for food for me and we found it.

Hears a taste:

Milagros.

Take a peek at their website and you’ll get an idea of how charming this restaurant is.  At this point I expect you are wondering what two Canadian girls are doing in a Mexican restaurant in Germany?  We were a wee bit lost.  I was sure we needed to go right and Sarah was sure we had already turned right and I was sure hungry.  In all our hunger and confusion we happened upon this restaurant; this was a great place to be lost.  “De México. Con Amor.” is written across the bright purple awning, I love Mexican food and I am familiar with how it is cooked, such a good start.  The waiter was happy to go talk to the chef about gluten and came back to our table fully educated on what I could and could not eat.  He also spoke German, Spanish and English, this made my brain hurt, but it feels so good to be understood; my regular restaurant worries vanished.  The food was full of flavors: smokey, spicy, sweet; each sauce and salsa evoking a new taste.  The presentation of each dish was unique and delightful.  I’m still thinking about those pork tacos…

What I drank: (worth mentioning because it was yummy and I had 2)
Piña Colada

What I ate:
Sopa de Tortilla -this dish is one of my favorites, if its’ on the menu, I usually order it and luckily, it is traditionally gf.
Tacos- 1 Steak Arrachera and 2 Cochinita Pibil (pork deliciousness)

What Sarah ate:
Burritos –I have to ask her what kind

The philosophy:
Der Name unseres Restaurants bedeutet „Wunder“ – und genau das sollen unsere Gäste hier auch erleben: ein kulinarisches, mexikanisches Wunder.
The name of the restaurant means “miracles” – and that’s what we want our guests can also experience: a culinary, Mexican miracle.

Website:
click me!


Leave a Reply

