Je ne sais quoi? Gluten

GF terminology en Français!

Je suis coeliaque. = I am celiac.
This word looks way more complicated to pronounce than it is.  Say celiac with a French accent.

Je suis allergique au gluten. (blé, orge, malt et de seigle) = I am allergic to gluten. (wheat, barley, malt and rye)

Sans gluten = gluten free

Merci = Thank you!
Never hurts to be polite.

I used the German blurb I found to write a text you can hand over to chefs in France and Quebec and anywhere else that speaks French.

The Blurb:
Je suis allergique au gluten (blé, orge, malt et de seigle).  Je ne peux pas manger des plats contenant de la farine, la chapelure, semoule, pâtes, etc.
Si une de ces ingrédients sont contenus dans le repas que j’ai choisi et ce n’est pas possible de les sortir, pourriez-vous s’il vous plaît me proposer un plat alternatif.
Merci beaucoup.

The Blurb translated:
I am allergic to gluten (wheat, barley, malt and rye).  I can not eat dishes containing flour, breadcrumbs, semolina, pasta, etc.
If any of these ingredients are in the meal I have chosen and it is not possible to leave them out, could you please offer me an alternative dish.

Thanks a lot.

Leave a Reply

