Good food, messy kitchen

I love cooking.  I think one thing that made my transition from gluten eater to gluten free a lot easier was my familiarity with the kitchen.  Thanks Mom!  Because of my comfort in the kitchen, when I am in a restaurant I have a pretty clear idea of how things are made, where they might sneak in a thickener or what should and shouldn’t use flour.  Although I’ve been writing about restaurants, I’ve also had a great time in the kitchen this summer.  My veggie basket has given me exactly what I wanted: inspiration.  I’ve made things like red wine and maple glazed carrots (needed to use my carrots and shallots), fennel and apple salad (I had a fennel), leek and cauliflower soup, bbq’d cauliflower, roasted tomatoes, grilled zucchini, fresh pesto (so much basil, so little time)…

Here are a few of the things I made and recipes:

Cauliflower and Leek Soup
What you’ll need:
3 leeks, 1 head of cauliflower, 1 liter of broth, 2 tbsp. lemon juice, S&P
Big pot, blender or immersion blender, spoon

First, boil cauliflower florets in water with lemon juice (added once the water has reached a boil)

Boiled cauliflower

Chop up the white end of 3 leeks, soften and sauté in butter.

Softening the leeks

Once the leeks start to brown, reduce the heat and add 1 litre of broth.  (I use whatever I have in the freezer or pantry so chicken, turkey or veggie).  Throw in the cauliflower, then blend and bring back to a boil.  Easy.  Delicious.  The first night, we just ate soup, but the next day we ate TV dinner style leftovers (picture below).

He and she TV dinners

Butter chicken, indiana succotash and cauliflower soup

Pulled Pork Tacos
What you’ll need: (inspired by Emeril Lagasse)
1 boneless pork shoulder, 1 1/2 tablespoons light-brown sugar, 1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes, 1 teaspoon chipotle chili pepper, 1 teaspoon crumbled Mexican oregano, 1 teaspoon cayenne, old bay seasoning (if you have it), S&P
Slow cooker, baking dish or bowl, forks

Place pork roast in a large, shallow baking dish. In a small bowl, mix together brown sugar, s&p, crushed red pepper, chipotle and cayenne pepper, and oregano. Using your hands, rub spice blend evenly over pork. Loosely cover and refrigerate at least 4 hours and up to overnight.
Transfer pork to a slow cooker. Cover and cook on high until tender and falling apart, about 8 hours, breaking into smaller pieces as it becomes more tender.
Using 2 forks, shred meat.

Pulled porky goodness

Devon's Taqueria

We ate the pork with corn tortillas, homemade salsa, spicy corn and lime.  Too good.  The next day I melted it all in cheese for quesadillas!

Frittata
What you’ll need:
5 Eggs (this is plenty for 2 people), 2 potatoes, 1 onion, tomatoes, whatever vegetable you have in your fridge and want to use, 1/2 cup milk, butter
Cast iron pan, wooden spoon or paddle

Cook the potatoes in a bit of butter, set aside and sauté the onions and your other veggies (I like spinach and kale and peppers), when those are cooked add the eggs and milk (which you should whip together in a seperate bowl).  Mix around the eggs to cook a bit, but stop when it starts to set up.  Layer with tomatoes and place under a broiler (medium heat), bake until the tomatoes start to brown.

Kale, potato and tomato frittata

2 responses to “Good food, messy kitchen

  1. Since I am home on sick leave and I am pretty down in the dumps mentally, I have been lacking in the food department. I just don’t have an appetite. The first thing that has looked good to me in a long time is that cauliflower soup. I might have to get myself to the grocery store for some cauliflower and make this. That way I have something small – yet healthy – to force myself to eat.

    I have been trying to gf-up the clean eating recipes I have been trying. My new obsession seems to be food blog posts. If you happen by my blog you’ll seem some.😉

  2. So glad you’ve posted some recipes, and the photos are terrific – worth maybe about a thousand words? I’d love to try the frittata some time soon, since the tomatoes actually have flavor right now. Which reminds me, it’s salsa time. Wish you were here.

Leave a Reply

