Mind my roots

In the last weeks of our veggie basket we received many, many root vegetables and gourds.  Perfect Fall food!  We had a mix of familiar veggies and mystery veggies and this is what we came up with:

Butternut Squash Risotto with Garlic Butter
What you’ll need:
Head of garlic, olive oil, about a cup of butter, 1 butternut squash cubed, sliced mushrooms, 1 quart of chicken or veggie broth, 1 cup chopped shallots or onion, 1/2 c. vermouth or white wine, 1 cup Arborio rice, S&P
Knife and cutting board, spoon and deep pan
Chop off the top of the garlic and drizzle a little olive oil on top, wrap the head in foil and roast at 400you’ll smell when it’s ready.  Squish the cloves into a 1/2 c. of butter and chill.
Melt 2 tbsp. butter, add the butternut squash and cook on medium heat until the squash is cooked through and starts to brown a little.  Set aside in a bowl.  In the same pan, sauté the shallots in 1 tbps. of butter, add the Arborio rice and vermouth.  Mix occasionally, once the rice absorbs the vermouth or wine, start adding the broth about a cup at a time until the rice is cooked.  If you need more liquid, you can add more broth, if you have it, water or more wine ;)  When you think the rice is almost cooked you can add the mushrooms with the cup of broth so they have a bit of liquid to cook in.  Finally add the butternut squash and a little of the garlic butter, mix.
Serve with a grated parmesan and dollop of garlic butter on top.  Enjoy!

This was my second helping.


Roasted Root Vegetables
This one is kind of self explanatory, I cut up all my veggies so they are about the same size, toss in some olive oil, S&P and roast at 400〫in the oven.  I just wanted to show you all the goodies we included in this!  Carrots, parsnips, turnips, kohlrabi, sunchokes, potatoes and garlic!  Have you ever had sunchokes?  (AKA Jerusalem artichokes or in French Topinambour) Or kohlrabi?  Sunchchokes are from the sunflower family (cousins, I believe) and look a bit like ginger root.  You don’t need to peel them, just scrub them like a potato and bake them.  Andrew thinks they taste like artichoke hearts.  I want to keep playing with them, but they added an interesting texture to our root mix and they brown very nicely, caramelizing just a little.  The kohlrabi tastes like the stem part of a broccoli (my favorite part).  My only complaint about the whole thing is that the parsnips aren’t quite as tasty as the ones I had in Germany last April.


Spicy Pumpkin Soup
What you’ll need:
Pumpkin purée (I used 2 small sweet pumpkins that I picked up while apple picking, about 5 cups, but you can use cans of pumpkin too), small can of coconut milk, 1 quart of broth (I used chicken again), 1 medium onion chopped up, 2 or 3 garlic cloves also chopped, 2 teaspoons curry powder, pinch of ground coriander and cayenne, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup of heavy cream, 1 cup milk
Immersion blender (or food processor or blender), soup pot, spoon
Sauté onions and garlic, once they start to brown mix in the curry, coriander and cayenne, add pumpkin and broth, bring to a boil.  Remove from heat and blend until smooth (careful it spits, so go slow).  Put the pot back on the burner and add the coconut milk, cream, milk and brown sugar.  Reheat, add S&P to taste, if you want more kick add more curry and cayenne.  So tasty!  I added some of my sweet and spicy pumpkin seeds too.

I like pumpkins stuffed and souped

Roots Anna- I found this recipe on Martha Stewart, here is the shorter version:

What you’ll need:
3 cloves garlic, unpeeled, olive oil, 1 1/2 pounds potatoes, 1 rutabaga, 6 tbsp. butter, S&P, fresh thyme leaves
Mandoline, 10 inch ovenproof skillet (I used my gorgeous, teal, cast iron pan because it has a lid)
Drizzle a little olive oil on top of the garlic, wrap in foil and roast at 400(again, you’ll smell when it’s ready).  Increase heat to 425 degrees.
Meanwhile, peel potatoes, and slice them as thinly as possible with the mandoline; place them in a bowl, and put damp paper towel on top to keep them from turning brown. Peel rutabaga, and cut in four, slice as thinly as possible, and cover with a damp paper towel.
Melt 2 tablespoons butter in the skillet, swirling pan to coat bottom and sides. Remove from heat. Starting at the sides of the pan, arrange about half of the rutabaga slices in overlapping concentric circles, covering bottom of pan. Sprinkle rutabaga with 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1/8 teaspoon pepper, 1/2 teaspoon thyme, and a third of the roasted garlic; dot with 1 tablespoon butter.
Arrange the potato slices in tight concentric circles over the rutabaga, and press down. Season with 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1/8 teaspoon pepper, 1/2 teaspoon thyme, and another third of the garlic; dot with 1 tablespoon butter. Arrange remaining rutabaga on top, and season again with 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1/8 teaspoon pepper, and remaining garlic; dot with 1 tablespoon butter.
Bake covered with lid of foil until vegetables are tender when pierced with the tip of a knife, 50 to 60 minutes.

In the making...

This was my first experience with cooking rutabaga and I am in love with this root.  This dish is delicious and I know you’ll want to make it over and over!

Baked rutabaga goodness

A very interesting side note (it’s not that interesting, I’m about to be sad about my hair), my fabulous hair dresser is on maternity leave (SOO excited for her), but my hair is a mess and I need to get my roots fixed!  I haven’t let anyone but Alyson touch my hair since 2001?  The end of this post felt like a good outlet for my hair frustration.  Mind your roots!

Leave a Reply

