GF Lasagna! 2 ways

I had a craving: Lasagna with noodles, spinach and ricotta, mozzarella and tomato sauce and meat — the works.  I was all ready to make adjustments to the recipe my sister had introduced me to and substitute noodles for spaghetti squash.  Then I remembered I had noodles!  I found DeBoles lasagna noodles the last time I was in Clifton Park!  But then I had the sweet taste of spaghetti squash and tomato sauce in my head.  What a dilemma!   So I made both.  With my upcoming trip to Germany I figured it wouldn’t hurt Andrew to have a few things in the freezer😉

Spaghetti Squash Lasagna

There are two things I love about this recipe.  One I mentioned above (tomato and squash = sweet perfection), the other is that it always reminds me of my sister.  She made this recipe for me a while back and it was one of those moments that made me reflect on how lucky I am to have her and my brothers.  (I think I would have made a terrible only child)  Christine’s move to Toronto brought us closer together and when I was diagnosed with Celiac disease her positive attitude and humor were a constant source of relief.  She also inadvertently found my favorite pancake mix when she prepared a pack of gf finds from Ontario (which is VERY different from Quebec, QC is finally catching up though).

Here is a link to the recipe at allrecipes.com:
Baked Spaghetti Squash Lasagna

I am not a fan of olives, so I add zucchini to the tomato sauce and I never re-stuff the squash shells, just use a glass baking dish.  I often double the recipe so that I can make one to freeze.

The two I made (pictured above) are smaller because I also made a third mega lasagna and I needed the sauce.  Don’t get me wrong, this dish is delicious (I wouldn’t share if I didn’t love it), but spaghetti squash lasagna is “light” in comparison to the one I craved, I would even go so far as to call this a summer lasagna.  It’s winter, I want carbs, cheese and comfort foody goodness!  Now that I have those noodles in my hot little hands…Watch out!  This is what I came up with:

Devon’s all in lasagna

Spinach and Ricotta Layer
3(ish) cups ricotta –I had 2 containers, I used them both because I did not foresee using 4 spoonfuls in another dish
2 ½ cups (20 oz) frozen spinach, thawed, drained and broken up
½ medium yellow onion, chopped up
S&P

Mix together, set aside

Meat Sauce Layer
½ medium onion, chopped
1 lb. ground beef
2-3 cloves garlic, chopped
4 cups tomato sauce (I usually just throw together a small onion, a large can of whole tomatoes and some tomato paste)
S&P

Sauté the onions for 4-5 minutes, add the beef and brown.  Remove some of the excess liquid, then add the garlic and tomato sauce.  Salt & Pepper to taste.

Cheese Layer
Mozzarella, Parmesan, Romano, Provolone…. It’s all good, it’s all cheese.  Use as much or as little as you like.  The important cheese layer, in my opinion, is the top layer, if you want to use less cheese, I would skimp (not skip) in the middle layers.

Lasagna Layering

In a deep 9×13” baking dish make as many layers as you can! Yum!
I start with a thin layer of tomato-meat sauce, then:
Noodles (uncooked)
Spinach and Ricotta mix
Cheese
Sauce
Repeat until full!  End with CHEESE!

Bake covered with foil for 1 hour at 350˚.  I like to put a foil covered cookie sheet under my baking dish, because I always over fill and the sauce always bubbles over.  After an hour, remove foil from the lasagna and bake until the cheese on top browns.  Remove from oven and let it sit for about 15 minutes.  Enjoy!

Devon's all in lasagna

I would like to dedicate this post to my friend Chris, who I accused of not reading my blog because I thought I had posted about my lasagna craving, when really I had just drafted it.  Oops.😉


Leave a Reply

